E Pluribus Mores

For Understanding

In Uncategorized on November 11, 2013 at 10:52 pm

 

For Understanding

When I was much younger

I would look at a woman

And undress her with my eyes,

Trying like a puzzle

To solve the mystery of her body.

Now, instead of clothes I remove years,

Stripping away her wisdom and her cares,

To a new mother, then a new woman,

Trying like a puzzle

To solve the mystery of her body.

In the end I find myself thinking not of her

But of my own daughter,

Small, asleep, safe,

And I wonder

At what poor tools are eyes

For understanding.


					
Leave a Reply

